I clasp the knob, opening the golden gate
watching her dance amidst her pure world.
With a smile and happiness like a halo around her angel face
she barely sees me.

My hand turns the knob to a close,
my merry dancing feet pause.
My body trembles with the thought  of bringing my scarred soul
into her pristine virginal world.

I release my grip on the knob,
and hold the golden rails looking at her.
Like a prisoner looking longingly at the faint sunshine streaming
through that one tiny corner window

I retrace my steps never taking my eyes off her face.
But I leave my soul behind with its scars. Waiting.
So I can run to reclaim my healed soul, and into her waiting arms.
until she beckons me with a smile.

Also read the “The Sunshine Girl”
Read more from the Valentine Week 2014 here
Read my other Love Poems here

DPChallenge

